Two new ministers – Stephen Ocheni (Kogi) and Suleiman Hassan (Gombe) – were assigned their portfolios in the early hours of today, August 16, 2017.

The Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo, has finally assigned portfolios to the two new ministers he inaugurated about 3 weeks ago.

The Senior Special Assistant to the Acting President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Laolu Akande, announced the development on his Twitter handle.

The ministers were sworn in in May, several weeks after they were confirmed by the Senate, due to President Muhammadu Buhari’s absence.

Ocheni is expected to fill the vacuum created by the death of James Ocholi who hailed from the same state, Kogi State as he resumes as Minister of State in the Ministry of Labour and Productivity.

While Hassan who was appointed to fill the Gombe State slot will resume as Minister of State, Power, Works and Housing.

The acting president also swore in 15 permanent secretaries to fill the vacancies created in various government agencies.