— Sender will receive a notification that their photo or video has been captured
— It’s bad news for any of us who enjoy saving other people’s posts for posterity
–You can now find out if someone screenshots your Instagram photos and videos
Instagram, by nature, is a playground where we can get inspiration and have a snoop at the lives of others .
Fancy a little grub at a friend of a friend’s page? Sure, why not?
Take a cheeky screengrab of something you like the look of? Go for it!
Yet in sad news for Insta-snoopers everywhere, those carefree days of taking screenshots anonymously are now gone.
At least when it comes to Direct Messages.
Instagram’s latest update means users can send and receive time-stamped photos and videos via their DMs, and they disappear after a few seconds.
Given the finite nature of these DMs, it can be tempting to screenshot them. You know, for posterity. Or to show to your mates.
Now, the sender will receive a notification that their photo or video has been captured by the recipient, Cosmopolitan reports.
The same applies if someone screenshots something you send to them.
At present, you can still screenshot actual Instagram posts without your stalking being made known to the person who posted them.
In addition to this change, much like with Whatsapp and Facebook messenger, any messages sent via Instagram now come with reports such as “delivered” and “seen.”
Making it that little bit harder to ignore people you’d much rather avoid.
See clips below:
Video credit: mirroruk